Estate Sale Score!

13 Jun

It is truly one of the great pleasures of my life to go to estate sales.  I don’t know what it is – feeling like I’m giving a second life to the very personal possessions of someone who can no longer take care of them or the thrill of the hunt and fighting off other treasure-seekers.  Either way, this Betty is H-O-O-K-E-D!  This weekend I hit up a great estate sale of a departed professor who had some really lovely, old things.  I went in to momentary cardiac arrest when I saw the gleaming pink Atlas sewing machine.  But $100?  Not today thanks.  My shopping partner found some great jewelry, sewing notions, and farm dresses (lucky girl – good thing I didn’t see them first!) and another shopper made off with some frothy pastel nighties.  But I still left happy!

The Mister was giddy with happiness when I came home with that Brownie for him. (We have a burgeoning collection of obsolete yet beautiful old cameras)  I could not be more thrilled with those adorable recipe cards.  Every self-respecting granny needs cutsey recipe cards, right?  I totally heart the ones that say “Kissin wears out…cookin don’t!”  Not pictured are some turquoise and pink Tupperware containers.  Love me some vintage Tupperware!  I also got a pretty rockin olive green sharkskin 50’s dress that turned out to be a perfect fit.  It was languishing at the bottom of a box and is in bad need of a dry clean which is why I didn’t photograph it.  Did anyone else out there score anything great this weekend?

5 Responses to “Estate Sale Score!”

  1. denise June 17, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    wow. my mom had “Here’s what’s cookin'” recipe cards, a Brownie camera that I have now, and she was a ‘tupperware Lady’ that’s what they called themselves. She sold tupperware.

    Found your blog by way of RetroRenovation.com, looking forward to seeing what else you find, and the rest of your house. I can feel your excitement over it all. Congratulations, the stars were all in alignment for you. 😉

    • bettycrafter June 17, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by! Sounds like your mom and I were kindred spirits 🙂

  2. Lisa T. June 17, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Love your kitchen! Last weekend I found an almost complete set of Blue Heaven dishes at an auction for $5.00!

    I’m so putting you in my favorites!!!

    • bettycrafter June 17, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

      Ohhh! Blue Heaven for $5.00?? I’m so jealous! The most awesome/frustrating garage sale I ever went to was packed full of mid century modern deliciousness like George Nelson lamps and Eames chairs that were already sold but I did manage to score about 3 boxes of china that included some Blue Heaven. But I paid more than $5.00! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  3. Nick Klaus June 18, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    My mom also had those exact same recipe cards, and I also came here by way of retrorenovation. It’s been ages since I last went out on the hunt for goodies, but I think I’ll have to pick up the pace for that soon. Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

